Hogarth, W. T

Dr. Hogarth is an accomplished marine research scientist with decades of experience in marine fisheries management. He is the retired Director of the Florida Institute of Oceanography (FIO), a position held from January 2011-2016. Dr. Hogarth received the Carl R. Sullivan Fishery Conservation Award at the 2016 American Fisheries Society (AFS) Annual Meeting in Kansas City, Missouri.

Formerly Dr. Hogarth was appointed to Regional Chancellor for USF-St. Petersburg from August 2012-June 2013. Prior to his leadership at FIO and USF-St. Petersburg, Dr. Hogarth was appointed as Dean of the USF’s College of Marine Science from January 2008-2011. FIO is an Academic Infrastructure Support Organization, established by the Florida Board of Governors supporting excellence in marine science, technology and education across 30 various research and educational institutions from Florida that work collaboratively to maximize marine research and education resources. FIO is hosted by the University of South Florida and is housed at the College of Marine Science in St. Petersburg, Florida.

Among his many distinguished appointments, Dr. Hogarth was appointed by Governor Christ to serve on the Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative Board (GoMRI), which oversees the funds of $500 million committed by BP over the next 10 years to investigate the impacts of the oil effects on the ecosystems of the Gulf of Mexico during the Deepwater Horizon disaster.

Before joining USF, Dr. Hogarth was the former Assistant Administrator of the National Marine Fisheries Services (NMFS) at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), appointed by President George W. Bush in September 2001. During his appointment, he focused on management and enhancement for living marine resources and served as chairman of the International Whaling Commission and the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas.

Prior to NOAA, Dr. Hogarth was the Director of the North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries (DMF), a position he held from 1986 to 1994. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Richmond in Virginia and a Ph.D. from North Carolina State University.