Council Members

FIO Council Members 

FIO’s Consortium consists of 32 institutions (with Host Institution, USF, having two Council Members). Each institution has a sitting FIO Council Member, responsible for attending meetings and voting on budgetary and operational items. The Council includes executive committees, each with a specific focus (for example- the Shiptime Committee) and members are voted in and rotate off committee assignments.

Below are the current FIO Council Members.

Adhikari, Puspa

Dr. Puspa Adhikari is an Assistant professor of Marine Chemistry for the Department of Marine & Earth Sciences at Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU)

Allen, Michael

Dr. Michael Allen is a professor of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences and the Director of the Nature Coast Biological Station (NCBS) at the University of Florida.

Alpert, Lenore

Lenore Alpert is the Executive Director of the Florida Ocean Alliance.

Boehme, Linae

Dr. Linae Boehme is a Professor at St. Petersburg College

Cho, Hyun Jung (J.)

Dr. Cho is a Professor of Environmental Science of Integrated Environmental Science at Bethune-Cokman University and Chair of Place-based Conservation Focal Area of the NOAA Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems.

Crosby, Michael

Michael Crosby is President and CEO of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium, an independent research institution that has been a leader in marine research for 60 years.

Dodge, Richard

Dr. Richard E. Dodge is Dean of, and Professor at, the Nova Southeastern University (NSU) Halmos College of Natural Sciences and Oceanography.

Fourqurean, James

Dr. James (Jim) Fourqurean is a Professor of Biology and the Director of the Marine Education and Research Center in the Institute for Water and Environment at Florida International University.

Frazer, Thomas

Dr. Tom Frazer is a Professor and Dean of the College of Marine Science at the University of South Florida.

Gelsleichter, Jim

Dr. Jim Gelsleichter is a Professor of Biology for the University of North Florida.

Gemmell, Brad

Dr. Brad Gemmell is an Assistant Professor in the Integrative Biology Department at the University of South Florida and Sloan Foundation Research Fellow.

Jeffrey, Wade

Dr. Wade Jeffrey is the Director of the Center for Environmental Diagnostics and Bioremediation and Distinguished University Professor at the University of West Florida.

Johnson, Kevin

Dr. Kevin Johnson is a Professor of Oceanography and Environmental Science, Ocean Engineering and Marine Sciences at the Florida Institute of Technology.

Judkins, Heather

Dr. Heather Judkins is an assistant professor in the Department of Biology at the University of South Florida St. Petersburg (USFSP).

Kent, Don

Don Kent has been President/CEO of Hubbs-SeaWorld Research Institute since 1998.

Long, Richard

Dr. Richard Long is an Associate Professor of Biological Sciences and the Focal Area Lead for Coastal Intelligence for the NOAA Florida Agricultural and Mechanical (A&M) University Center for Coastal and Marine Ecosystems.

Trexler, Joel

Dr. Joel Trexler is the Director of the Florida State University Coastal and Marine Laboratory (FSUCML) and a Professor of Biological Science.

McRae, Gil

Gil McRae is currently the Director of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s (FWC) Fish and Wildlife Research Institute (FWRI).

Milbrandt, Eric

Dr. Eric Milbrandt is Director of the Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation (SCCF) Marine Laboratory. He serves as an editor of manuscripts for Estuaries and Coasts, Limnology and Oceanography, Botanica Marina, the Journal of Wetland Ecology and Management, and Hydrobiologia.

Pastor, Patxi

Patxi Pastor is the Founder of the Celebration of the Sea Foundation. Patxi is also the Co-Founder of the Mission Resolve Foundation, Keys Strong, and the Wahoo Bay Educational Marine Eco-Park. He also recently served as President and CEO of the Guy Harvey Foundation.

Paul, Valerie

Dr. Valerie Paul has served as Director of the Smithsonian Marine Station at Fort Pierce, Florida, since 2002.

Shay, Nick

Dr. Nick Shay is a Professor in the Department of Ocean Sciences at the University of Miami’s Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science and directs the Upper Ocean Dynamics Laboratory.

Siuda, Amy

Dr. Amy Siuda teaches marine science, biological, and physical oceanography at Eckerd College and is a biological oceanographer.

Stone, Debbi

Debbi Stone is the Senior Vice President of Engagement & Learning at the Florida Aquarium.

Sullivan, James

Dr. James Sullivan is the Executive Director of Florida Atlantic University’s Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute (HBOI).

White, Quinton

Dr. Quinton White is Executive Director of the Marine Science Research Institute and Professor of Biology and Marine Science at Jacksonville University.

Whittle, Amber

Dr. Amber Whittle is the Director of Pritzker Marine Biology Research Center at New College of Florida.

Worthy, Graham

Dr. Graham Worthy is a University of Central Florida (UCF) Pegasus Professor, Provosts Distinguished Professor of Biology and the Hubbs-SeaWorld Endowed Professor of Marine Mammalogy.